Weight Divisions

by on January 15, 2013 in The Sweet Science Guide

Weight Divisions

In boxing, a weight class, or weight division is the acceptable weight range a fighter must be ,before competing within that size category. Typically, the rules of boxing stipulate that each boxer’s weight mustn’t exceed the upper designated limit of the division he is competing within, although in amateur boxing, a fighter’s weight must allow stay above a minimal limit.

The largest weight class in professional boxing is called heavyweight, and the smallest is flyweight, with the two having a staggeringly large 88lbs difference. As you can probably guess, the idea behind weight divisions in boxing is to ensure that fighters are evenly matched and that no man has an unreasonable size advantage.

In recent years, the idea of “Pound for Pound” rankings and fighters has grown in popularity, to describe a fighter’s overall competitiveness irrespective of weight class, and thus allows commentators and fight fans to hypothesis what would happen if two fighters from two different divisions were to meet in the ring.
When two fighters from different weight classes do end up fighting, quite often a “catch weight” is agreed upon, or put simply a non standard weight limit. This is often one that meets in the middle of the two boxer’s normal division.

Professional Boxing Weight Divisions

  1. • Straw weight, also known as mini fly (105lb, 47.6kg)
  2. • Light flyweight (108lb, 49kg)
  3. • Flyweight (112lb, 51kg)
  4. • Super flyweight, also known as junior bantam (115lb, 52.1kg)
  5. • Bantamweight (118lb, 53.5kg)
  6. • Super bantamweight, also known as junior feather (122lb, 55.3kg)
  7. • Featherweight (126lb, 57.1kg)
  8. • Super featherweight, also known as junior light (130lb, 59kg)
  9. • Lightweight (135lb, 61.2kg)
  10. • Light welterweight, also known as junior welterweight (140lb, 63.5kg)
  11. • Welterweight (147lb, 66.7kg)
  12. • Light middleweight, also known as super welter (154lb, 70kg)
  13. • Middleweight (160lb, 72.5kg)
  14. • Super middleweight (168lb, 76.2kg)
  15. • Light heavyweight (175lb, 79kg)
  16. • Cruiserweight (200lb, 91kg)
  17. • Heavyweight (over 200lb, 91kg)

Amateur Boxing Weight Divisions

  1. • Light Flyweight (up to 106lb, 48.1kg)
  2. • Flyweight (112lb, 50.8kg)
  3. • Bantamweight (119lb, 54.0kg)
  4. • Featherweight (125lb, 56.7kg)
  5. • Lightweight (132lb, 59.9kg)
  6. • Light Welterweight (141lb, 63.9kg)
  7. • Welterweight (152lb, 68.9kg)
  8. • Middleweight (165lb, 74.8kg)
  9. • Light Heavyweight (178lb, 80.7kg)
  10. • Heavyweight (201lb, 91.2kg)
  11. • Super Heavyweight (over 201lb, 91.2kg)


Print article

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.